Reading Festival 2014

Long time, no blog. Due to family reasons and general busyness, I could not find time to blog but back to normal now.

So as you can tell by the title I attended Reading Festival this year and yes I was there volunteering, which seems to be the case for the festivals I attend. This blog will contain brief details about my experience working at Reading however, the majority of the blog will be focused on the live music.

023All the photos in this post are mine. Sleeping With Sirens – Main Stage.

My volunteering experience this time round involved working with the campsite security; therefore, I will not be able to go into too much detail about what I did. I was in one of the campsites at Reading every night (yes, night shifts people!) and I was the logger for the security so if any incident occurred it would be down to me to input the incident in the relevant log. Let’s just say the campsites have a lot going on in them. For all five days, the shifts were gruelling. Mind you I learnt a lot of on hand experience. 

I wasn’t on my own in the logger journey. There were four others students from my university doing the same job as I was. The whole experience has rather scared me off the idea of public camping at festival. If I do go to a festival for fun, I will be volunteering again.

DSCN9877

Now onto the music!

Because I was working night shifts, I only got to see bands up until around 6pm but this meant I got to see a handful of bands. I am not going to go through every single set I saw but will mention two of my favourites. A few things before I begin though. I found the arena at Reading (where all the stages are) quite small, I thought it would be much bigger. Yes it did take around ten to fifteen minutes to get to the other side of the arena but the way people talked about the arena I thought it would be bigger. Another thing is that Reading and Leeds is becoming heavily popular for GCSE students and middle class children, this was just on observation but everyone seemed rather young to me.

ADTR Reading 2014A Day To Remember – Main Stage.

I had planned to see only half of A Day To Remember‘s set as I had intended on going to The 1975 signing. However, that was to be a waste of time – around 250 people were in the line half an hour before the signing started. The 1975 were only scheduled for a mere half an hour, so there was little reason to wait in line to be disappointed.  This meant I got to see the full A Day To Remember set and it put me in a great mood. In hindsight, I am glad that I missed the signing because the full ADTR performance reigniting my love for their music. Not only was it a great sing along but it reminded me of just how great they are live.

ADTR2 Reading Festival 2014A Day To Remember – Main Stage.

I think one of the best parts of their whole set was when Jeremy climbed into the giant opaque ball and went around the crowd. The last time I checked their full set was on BBC iPlayer, so go check it out for yourself if you can. In addition, because of watching all of ADTR, I finally got around to listening to their latest album, Common Courtesy, and I’ve been listening to it on repeat on Spotify. When I get some cash together I will be going to my nearest HMV (yes to buy CD’s) and pick the album up. If you get the chance to see A Day To Remember just go see them.

The Hives Reading 2014The Hives – Main Stage.

I was curious about seeing The Hives as my dad would always have them playing in the car when I was younger. I decided to phone said dad before I watched The Hives and he was a little jealous. He had every right to be. For me, The Hives were the best act by far at Reading (apparently, the headliners, Queens of The Stone Age, Artic Monkeys and Blink 182,  were good but I did not see them).  Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist, the lead vocalist of The Hives is a showman and when you watch The Hives he takes you on this incredible ride where you have to join in. Pelle pushes the crowd to enjoy themselves and he does not want a half-hearted attempt! Pelle was in the crowd every other song and that is something I admire in a lead singer. It shows they are not pretentious enough to stay soley on stage, play the show, and then leave without a second glance (exception given to leads who have to play instruments).

Pelle The Hives.Pelle among the crowd. The Hives – Main Stage.

I’m not enough of fan of The Hives to know all of their songs, but I did know a couple and the other songs I heard I would be willing to listen to again. The band as a whole have this gang like feel, a gang you want to be part of and they let you in. The chemistry the band share is great and is reflected onto the audience. They were at the top of their game. I advise anyone to them live because if you don’t, you are missing out on something quite special.

Jimmy Eat World Reading 2014Jimmy Eat World – Main Stage.

So that’s it and festival season is wrapping up in the UK for another year. The two festivals I have attended this year make me want to attend even more festivals next year. Reading was hard work but enjoyable and I’d go back and volunteer again but maybe next year I might try Leeds because, after all, I am a Yorkshire Lass.

Leave a Reply

