A Day Trip To Birmingham

I have been to Birmingham countless timeless but almost all of those times were because I was simply changing stations, so it’s safe to say I had not seen that much of Birmingham. The only time I have spent any considerable length in Birmingham was earlier this year when I was visiting my best friend, Lilly for her birthday. Therefore, it would be no surprise that my day trip that I took earlier this week, was to visit said best friend.

The Gingerbread Bull at the Bullring shopping center.

The Gingerbread Bull at the Bullring shopping center.

Birmingham is a considerable train journey away from my university town but it is rather cheap with a railcard. The day started earlier for me as I wanted to spend a decent amount of time in the city with Lilly. I arrived in Birmingham just before midday and Lilly quickly directed me to the Bullring, which I must say is one of my favourite shopping centres in the UK. With Christmas shopping still to buy the Bullring was great for the last gifts I needed. Soon after we finished shopping, we found ourselves at Ed’s Easy Diner. Great food at good prices all with that classic American dinner touch, also the service was brilliant.

Frankfurt Christmas Market.

Frankfurt Christmas Market.

After eating until we were full, we decided to venture outside of the Bullring and eventually to the Frankfurt Christmas Market. Birmingham has the title of the largest Christmas Market in the UK and this is something I can agree on. Lilly also happened to point out the large Waterstones Birmingham has to offer, nearly over five floors and to a bookworm like myself that is a dream come true.  After reaching the third floor of the store and already having a handful of books and little money we thought it was best to quit while we were ahead in the store. I must mention however the amazing graphic novel section. Yes, it is nothing compared your average comic book store but for a place like Waterstones it’s something great.

A small snippet of Birmingham Waterstones Graphic Novel section.

A small snippet of Birmingham Waterstones Graphic Novel section.

Apart from being the largest Christmas Market it is also incredibly pretty, walking through the market did make me feel very festive and lifted our moods considerable. After attending Leeds Christmas Market and trying some food there, I wanted to see what Birmingham had to offer. The first thing I opted for was the Frankfurt sausage in a bread bun with a bit of ketchup and crispy bacon. I enjoyed it; I would have another if I visited again. In addition, the other food I tried at the market was a crepe with white chocolate. I once again enjoy this but my goodness it got very sickly towards the end, Lilly in this case opted for a savoury one of ham and cheese.

Frankfurt sausage.

Frankfurt sausage.

The trip to Birmingham was nice despite the cold and the wind that picked up towards the end of the day. The Christmas Market was enjoyable experience and one I would like to repeat next year. Birmingham can be a pretty city when it wants to be and I think Birmingham is at its prettiest when the Christmas Market is in town.  If you do end up going to the Birmingham Christmas Market, do have a go on carousel near the City Council Building, it makes you feel like a kid again.

The carousel at the Christmas Market.

The carousel at the Christmas Market.

Leave a Reply

