Thank You The Blackout!

This week in United Kingdom, a band from Merthyr Tydfil, Wales will be doing their farewell tour. After thirteen years, The Blackout are bringing the band to a close.

TheBlackout02PR110411

I have been a fan of The Blackout since 2008 but over the last few years, I became more interested in other bands but I knew that that band were still going. It was a surprise when The Blackout announced they were calling it a day and my friend suggested that we got tickets for the final farewell tour, which I went to this week. Fifteen year old me was a little upset to say the least.
But I can understand why The Blackout are calling it a day, the music business is hard and despite relentless touring and crowdfunding a band cannot live off it. Unfortunately, for The Blackout, they never broke through the glass ceiling that bands find themselves hitting, Kids in Glass Houses had to call it a day last year as well. But kudos to The Blackout for going for thirteen years, a small band for Merthyr Tydfil did well.

1337

I first saw The Blackout in the Cockpit in Leeds, (I made a post about the venue closing a few weeks back) and it was my first ‘proper’ standing gig and I loved every minute of it. Since that day I have seen The Blackout live seven times and I was never disappointed. I have also met the whole band twice and Sean Smith and Gavin Butler (The band’s lead singers) on several occasions. As far as I can remember every time I have met the band they have been nothing but polite, Sean was always willing to take photos and one of my favourite photos ever is with him.

sean smith blurred

I am going to miss The Blackout and at their farewell gig this week, I realised why I enjoyed going to their shows so much. The Blackout were so grateful that we had turned up and then proceeded to slag us off which made me laugh because that is the type of band they were. Their music did play a large part in my teenage years and I will always remember them fondly.

Thank you TBO. It’s been a long thirteen years. We are the dynamite!

1278

Leave a Reply

