In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mix Tape Masterpiece.”

You make a new friend. Make them a mix tape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song.

1) Guts – All Time Low
All Time Low is my favourite band by far and Guts is quite easily my favourite song by them. It only seems right to start off the playlist with my favourite band and song.

2) Pressure – The 1975
I have only been a fan of The 1975 for just under two years but I am enjoying every minute of it. The self-titled album is full of great songs and Pressure is just one of my favourites on the album.

3) Transylvania – McFly
Compared to The 1975 I have been a fan of McFly since they stared back in 2003 and were support for Busted. Out of all the songs I picked to go on this mix tape I choose Transylvania as it holds a lot of fun memories for me, it is also one of the best songs off the Motion in the Ocean album.

4) Never Gonna Give You Up – Rick Astley
I love a bit of cheesy pop and Never Gonna Give You Up is exactly that. There is no point denying it, this song is frankly amazing and great at any party occasion. I think this songs speaks to my childish side and I just can’t help but belt out the lyrics whenever it comes on.

5) Best Of You – Foo Fighters
The Foo Fighters is an example of the music taste I gained from my parents. My dad is a big fan of the Foos and the countless journeys listening to them has clear worn off on me. Hopefully, one day in the near future me and my dad may finally get to see the Foo Fighter in concert. (Dave, the leading man broke his leg so our show got cancelled this year).

6) The Only Difference Between Martyrdom And Suicide Is Press Coverage – Panic! At The Disco
In my teens, I was basically an ‘emo kid’ and this song by Panic shows cases that. Panic’s first album was the guide to being emo and I tried my hardest to learn all the words to the songs on this album.

7) A Boy Named Sue – Johnny Cash
Another influence from my parents. A Boy Named Sue is my favourite song by the man in black, the song tells a story of an unfortunate boy named Sue and his struggles throughout his life with a female name. Johnny’s skill as entertainer shines through on the live version of this song (I chose the recorded for the mix tape), yes the man in black has other songs that showcase his talent but I think this songs speaks to me a lot more that the others do.

8) Top Of The World – Imagine Dragons
This song has a very specific memory linked to it. When I was interning at Hove Festival (nearly a year ago) Imagine Dragons headlined the final night of the festival a band I had been excited to see live. I will set the scene, the sun was setting on a warm July evening over the beautiful island of Tromøy near Arendal and this song is starts to play. That memory always give me a warm feeling inside.

9) Somebody To Love – Queen
Most British people love Queen, if you don’t some people may consider you a little bit weird. Queen is especially great to sing along drunk to but my favourite Queen song is Somebody To Love. It is beautiful and shows off Freddie’s talent in all its shinning glory. For me this song never gets old.

10) Defying Gravity – Wicked
I love musicals! Wicked is my favourite musical. That is all.

One thought on “My Mix Tape Masterpiece

Leave a Reply

