The Ghost of Halloween Past

With Halloween just around the corner, expect some Halloweenish type of blog posts in the next few days. This blog post is going to tell you about some of my past costumes for the ghoulish holiday.  As  child I have been a witch, a vampire and something with a scream mask, however, I don’t have many photos of me as a child in costume.

056This photo was taken back in 2008 when I was the tender age of fourteen. The story behind this costume as Billy the Puppet (from the Saw franchise) is actually quite interesting. I was staying at my dad’s house that week as I was on half term, me and my step sister Abie had no plans for Halloween until maybe three days beforehand.  After watching Saw we ventured to eBay to buy some masks and decided that we were going to head to York and go on a ghost tour. By the time Halloween rolled around our masks were done and our costumes we were sorted.  Abie went as Joey Jordison from Slipknot and our friend Amber went as a cat and we ventured into York. Overall, the night was fun and the ghost tour was great!

1215

Another year, another costume! This year my mum allowed me to have a Halloween party that I shared with my stepbrother and nearly all of the guests jumped at the chance to get dressed up. This year I decided I wanted to be a demonic ringmaster, I bought a top hat and cane and my mum helped me cut up and “bloody” the shirt in our back yard. My mum and step-dad also went all out with the decorations, which was sweet of them. I honestly do not remember too much of the party but I do remember taking off my make up because this stuff was sliding off my face! I really enjoyed this outfit, it is probably one of my favourites and I would consider making it again.

978

For my first year at university, I knew exactly what I was going as. Harley Quinn. I had the top made by best friends a few months back for a fancy dress party we attended (we went as Cat Woman, Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn). I recycled the costume and decided to use again. I didn’t feel out of place at the students’ union as everyone was really into the spirit of Halloween and a lot of people commented on my look and shoes (Joker and Batman converse). However, out of my flat I definitely went more Halloween then the rest of my flatmates.

DSCN9242

In 2013, I was less theatrical with my costume. My best friends at university decided that we would go as some of the characters from the TV show, The Vampire Diaries. I went as Caroline and they went as Elena and Stefan. I must say we looked great, we all had some blood dripping down our chins and a bite mark, we also bought the daylight rings the characters have in the show. To this day, I still have the ring (it is a nice ring!) Even though my costume was less Halloween and more grown up, I still liked it a hell of a lot.

And this year I shall be going as Wednesday Addams. I have a long black wig, which I have plaited but to be honest I don’t think I will be wearing the wig for long as I am not keen on wearing wigs. I already have a dress sorted, its not identical but it will do. I am quite excited for Halloween this year, what about you? Are you going to a party or dressing up at all, let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

