Monthly Favourites #5 (January 2016)

The first month of 2016 is slowly wrapping up, so it is time for a favourites blog post!

Film – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
I enjoy the Star Wars films, like the originals and I like the prequels so at some point I would go see The Force Awakens. Nearly everyone I know saw episode seven in December, where as I saw it January. However, this meant the cinema wasn’t as crowded and I could enjoy the film without some person sat next to me ruffling sweet packets. Star Wars: The Force Awakens is good quality film, maybe a little dull in places but overall it is good. There are plenty of action and emotional scenes but the one thing that really impressed me about episode seven was the new trio, Rey, Finn and Poe. The new trio are great, they are not just stereotypical tropes and I can’t wait to see more of them in action. If you haven’t seen any of the Star Wars films before go see Star Wars: The Force Awakens, it is easy to follow and you will be introduced into a great sci-fi series.
star wars fa

TV Show – Supernatural
From recent blog post it was obvious that Supernatural was going to be in a favourites blog post. I have banged on this show a lot to my close friends and family and I think everyone is sick of me going on about it. If you want to know what Supernatural just check out this blog post where I talk about some great TV shows.

Music – Panic! At The Disco
I have been a fan of P!ATD since my emo days some years ago, (if am I honest I am still secretly an emo kid). I have followed Panic! on and off over the recent years and saw them live around the Vices & Virtues album, in truth I have never gone off Panic!. This month Panic! (that consists of the original and only member Brendon Urie) released their fifth album Death of a Bachelor. Death of a Bachelor is Panic! if you know there sound you can tell from the first beat it is them, perhaps with a more pop twist. The fifth album is great, LA Devotee and Emperor’s New Clothes are some of my favourites from the album. Brendon has been improving on his writing and music since the first album and you can hear that all the hard work is paying off, there is no doubt this man is full of creative ideas. I would love to see Panic live again so maybe this year I can do that because they sure throw one a hell of a gig.

Product – Nivea Daily Essentials Double Effect Eye Make-Up Remover
One day my local supermarket didn’t have any of the above eye make-up remover in store, no worries I thought I will just get something else. How wrong I was! Previous eye make-up removers either burn or don’t actually remove waterproof mascara, I have at least two bottles of rubbish eye make-up remover in my house. But imagine my joy when visiting a friend I found Nivea remover, let’s just say taking off my eye make-up is now a joy.

Documentaries –Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief & Cobain: Montage of Heck &
This month I watched two great documentaries, the first I watched was the Scientology documentary, which received wide spread praise from critics. For some time I have been wanting to watch the Going Clear documentary due to the amount praise it has received and I wasn’t disappointed. What I took from Going Clear was that initially Scientology had good theories with bettering oneself but things definitely took a sour turn. Scientology for is very what the hell? Some of the things to documentary revealed shocked me and that is all I am going to say.
The other documentary I watched was Cobain: Montage of Heck, which is about the life of Kurt Cobain. As a fan of nirvana and someone who wrote a whole essay on grunge, I have always been intrigued by Cobain’s life. Montage of Heck is great as it doesn’t focus of Kurt being seen as a famous drug addict, it shows a side to Kurt that only his family and friends knew. Kurt Cobain, from what I could gather was extremely creative, almost bursting with it but he also suffered a lot emotional. It is a well-put together documentary and it is the first documentary to involve Kurt’s family, if you like Nirvana this documentary is a must.

So that is all my favourites this month, do you have any favourites this month if so share them in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

