Going Solo

A week ago today I attend my first gig on my own, I didn’t see any friends at this gig nor did I plan to meet up with anyone (which I have done in the past) I was flying solo this time. The concert in question was 5 Seconds of Summer at the First Direct Arena in Leeds.

I have been a fan of 5sos for roughly two years so it was only natural when they announced their UK tour last year that I wanted to go, however, there was a small problem. No one wanted to go with me. After at least three days of going back and forth between various friends I decided to bite the bullet and just get one ticket for myself, to hell with everyone else. By three minutes past nine on a Friday morning, I had one seated ticket for 5sos. A feeling of happiness flooded over me, I was going to see a band I really enjoyed and I managed to get a ticket with a decent seat.

Over the recent months, there was a worry that I would stand out like a sore thumb and it would be an awkward experience for me. However, I am happy to report it was far from that! I had a great time, my seat was fantastic and I really enjoyed myself. No one asked me why I was alone and yes, it would have been fun to have someone to freak out when the band did certain things but really I didn’t need someone because I was having so much fun seeing one of my favourites bands live.

The concert made me think more about doing things alone, it may seem daunting at first but actually its fine. In the next few months my only close friend in my hometown is moving away, I don’t go out that much as it is but there is a worry I might become even more of a recluse than I already am. However, I might be somewhat more confident about doing things on my own after my recent positive experience. Who knows I might start going to the cinema on my own!

So I ask you what do you prefer; going along with friends to things or going solo? Let me know in the comments!

5sos collage

3 thoughts on “Going Solo

  1. Good for your! So glad to hear that you had a good time!
    I recently won a pair of tickets to a small venue and ended up not having anyone to go with…and I decided not to go. I wish I did go…
    On the other hand I have gone to see all the Twilight movies on my own and I have not regrets about that 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your experience

  2. So glad for you! I don’t go out that much too. But that’s just because I prefer to read a book or listen to music while relaxing at home. A lot of people don’t understand that I’m happy that way and it’s not boring for me. Just do what makes you happy. BTW, love 5sos music too.

Leave a Reply

