Monthly Favourites #10 (June 2016)

After a busy birthday month, which including spending a lot of a time at several trains stations I have finally accumulated June monthly favourites which sees the return of some previous favourites.

TV – Orange Is the New Black
By now most people have heard the Netflix original series Orange is The New Black (OITNB), a comedy drama series set in a women’s minimum security prison.  The premise for the TV show was based on Piper Kerman’s memoir Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Woman’s Prison. The first story we follow is Piper Chapman who goes to jail for the same reason as Piper Kerman, money laundering and drug trafficking. Over the seasons, the show has created its own story lines and characters as well as receiving cheers from the fans and critics alike. Season four made the three previous season seem like bubble-gum pop (with the odd exception), it was gritty and raw and tackled some important issues head on. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys comedy and drama, you most certainly don’t want to be missing out on this.
Also a quick honourable mention to Game of Thrones who is knocking out of the park this season!

S1Cast

Documentary – The Hunting Ground
Someone on Twitter mentioned this documentary and said it should be getting the same outcry of anger as Making a Murderer (both documentary’s can be found on Netflix), so guess who took the plunge and decided to watch it. The Hunting Ground is a documentary that focuses on the rising sexual assaults on college campuses in the United States; it also shows how the college administration have failed to help the victims. This documentary made me angry, it showed that the administration were not helping the victims but protecting the rapists. It is an eye opener and if you are not worried about being triggered I would give this a watch. More people need to be aware of the injustice happening on college campuses across the states.

Music – The 1975 & Hamilton
Really not much to say about these two as I have previously mentioned them in monthly favourites. But they are what I have been listening to this month.

Thing – Phone Case
I finally got round to buying a phone case for my phone! I headed to etsy in search of something fun and quirky and I stumbled upon a shop called TheSmallPrintCases.  They catered to many different types of phones and they have a great high quality choice of cases. I really like my dinosaur cases, I have had it for nearly two weeks and it is still looking good, so much so in the future I may consider getting another case from this wonderful shop.

Beauty – Sleek Blush by 3 Pink Lemonade
I went on a little make up shopping spree this month and picked up a few items but I wanted to include this one in this favourites. I am slowly getting back into wearing makeup, I enjoy putting it on and wearing but this blush is simply gorgeous. It is highly pigmented and just so beautiful with its three shades, one of which is a cream blush.  The picture does not do the blush justice, it is very pretty. A strong beauty recommendation if you are looking for a new blush. If you are in the UK you can buy it here!

Sleek blush

So that’s it for favourites this month. Do you have any favourites let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

